Go Nuts!

15 Nov

I am currently on a detox to give myself a good cleanse before summer. Apart from tea and coffee, I really miss treats, so I invented myself a healthy little snack that I can keep in the fridge for when the cravings get too strong. This recipe is made mostly of nuts and is vegan friendly. The measurements are approximate as I freepour the ingredients until I get the flavour I want, so use this as a guideline. You may want to add more agave syrup to make it slightly sweeter, or use different kinds of nuts. I am going to try using date paste next time and for a non-vegan recipe, you could add some honey. I sometimes use coconut butter and tahini; whatever happens to be in my cupboard. Just make sure that you make the mixture firm enough to form the balls.

NUT BALLS

This should make about 26 balls.

140g nut spread (I use macadamia)

90g almond meal

20g seseme seeds

30g dutch cocoa

4 tbs agave syrup

20 g dessicated coconut (plus another 30g for rolling the balls in)

130g crushed, roasted almonds

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl until it forms a mixture that is firm enough to roll. If it is too wet, add some more almond meal or coconut. If it is too dry, add a bit more nut butter or agave. With damp hands, roll the mixture into 20g balls and then  roll them in the extra coconut. Put them in the fridge until firm and they’ll keep in an airproof container for about a month.

Leave a Reply

