Pear and Fennel Seed Chutney

6 Dec

I got this recipe from a 1970 edition of the ‘Australian and New Zealand Complete Book of Cookery’. I find most older books have great, simple recipes for chutneys and preserves.

This one is still in pounds which I didn’t bother to convert as my scales have a switch that can change the measurements from grams to pounds. You can find a conversion calculator here.

Pear and Fennel Seed Chutney

2 1/2 lb pears

1 green apple

1 lb white onions

2 cups (1 lb) sugar

2 cups white vinegar

1 cup seeded raisons

1 tsp fennel seeds

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp salt

Peel, core and chop pears and apple.

Chop onions,

Combine all ingredients in a large pot and bring to the boil.

Lower heat and simmer until thick and syrupy (about 1 hour), stirring often to prevent sticking.

Seal in jars when cold.

2 Responses to “Pear and Fennel Seed Chutney”

  1. Karen May 28, 2014 at 8:47 pm #

    I made this chutney and it is AAAAAAMAZING. Perfect accompaniment to a pork cutlet, or with cheese. Have also been having it with my poached egg on toast for breakfast. I normally share all of my preserves. This one….well, I kept 5 out of 7 jars. That says it all really!!

    • heavenlypeachbanquet June 1, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

      It is a delicious one, isn’t it? I love it with a hard cheese. Glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

